Feeding Your Brain

By JoAnne Boettcher-Verigin

Originally published November 2012,Biosis #38; edited

You know the holiday season is here when the line at the post office starts getting longer. And slower. It’s enough to make anyone a little less than cheerful, I guess, especially as our schedules get tighter and our to-do lists, longer as we prepare for our annual celebrations.

Yet when I was there the other day and the clerk asked how I was doing, even I was surprised by my answer: “Super good and getting better!” Everybody got a smile on their face – including me, suddenly feeling a lot perkier and positive!

reading bookOur self-talk is important! Most of us wouldn’t think of going a day without feeding our bodies with nourishing food. Why in the world would we not take time to feed our minds with nourishing thoughts?

I like to take some time each morning to read a bit of inspiration or motivation – like the “Ziglarisms” (sayings by motivational speaker and author Zig Ziglar) I’d been re-reading the day I went to the post office, which had obviously fueled my reply to the clerk.

I don’t always remember to do this, though – especially during hectic, stressful times like the end of year. Didn’t I just finish putting away Christmas decorations a few weeks ago? And now it’s time to put them up again? Already?! Through the whirlwind of it all, I often hear my mom’s voice in my own: “We need to get organized!”

Of course, this whole year has been eventful, busy and challenging. During such times, nourishing the mind is even more important. It gives us strength, perspective and drive to keep on doing what needs to get done, from everyday tasks and obligations to preparing for the holidays.

We all have certain things that can help us get into a positive state of mind – the Bible or other sacred texts, affirmations, special music… Why not take some time each morning to indulge in what lifts you up, gets you jazzed, empowers you?

My wish for you is a wonderful holiday season and positive excitement as you go forward into a brand new year!

happy holidays

Images by Cauldron Graphix
& zizzybaloobah, via Flickr


All of us here at Dr. Verigin’s office hope you have marvelous, joy-filled and happy holiday season!

We’ll be back to our regular posting schedule on Wednesday, January 6.

About The Verigin Dental Health Team

A humanistic, holistic dental practice in Northern California, providing integrative, biological, mercury-free dentistry
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.